Monday, 29 February 2016

#photoblog Pub Sign at the National Gallery


From the National Gallery's entrance way mosaic by Boris Anrep.

Saturday, 27 February 2016

Friday, 26 February 2016

#photoblog Mosaic


Paolozzi at Tottenham Court Road Underground.

Thursday, 25 February 2016

Wednesday, 24 February 2016

#photoblog The (Street) Sign Of Four

Street named for Sherlock Muse, bitter arch-rival of the more famous Sherlock Holmes…


Monday, 22 February 2016

#photoblog Truly Grim Up North London

Yesterday's post featured the sad sight of a dead pub in Fortis Green, North London. Did it die of natural causes? Or something more sinister?

Perhaps we'll never know – because the cop shop across the road has gone the same way as the pub…



Whodunnit?



Sunday, 21 February 2016

Thursday, 18 February 2016

Saturday, 13 February 2016

#photoblog Caff Week No.7

Kingsley Amis once quipped that the three most depressing words in the English language are "Red or white?"

"Red or brown?" on the other hand is a much more cheerful proposition…

Friday, 12 February 2016

#photoblog Caff Week No.6: Same Gag In North and South London

A twofer today - two former public toilets turned into cafés.

Toulous in Hampstead Garden Suburb…





… and LooLoo's in Putney…




Quite flushed with mirth I am. Tee hee.



Thursday, 11 February 2016

#photoblog Caff Week No.5 Gone But Not Forgotten


R.I.P Cooke's Pie & Mash shop on The Goldhawk Road. Famed as the caff in Quadrophenia, it is much missed.

Tuesday, 9 February 2016

#photoblog Caff Week No.3 See You At The Ace

It's Caff Week on The 38 to Clapton Pond! Each day a caff, a greasy spoon, a God's honest cup o' tea and a bacon roll sort of a joint…



Legendary bikers' hang-out on the North Circular near Stonebridge.


Monday, 8 February 2016

#photoblog Caff Week No.2 Ken's Cafe West Ham

It's Caff Week on The 38 to Clapton Pond! Each day a caff, a greasy spoon, a God's honest cup o' tea and a bacon roll sort of a joint…


Welcome to Ken's Cafe, Green Street, where Bobby Moore and his West Ham mates taked tactics after training.

Sunday, 7 February 2016

#photoblog Caff Week No.1

It's Caff Week on The 38 to Clapton Pond! Each day a caff, a greasy spoon, a God's honest cup o' tea and a bacon roll sort of a joint. I'm starting on Caledonian Road…




… the caff opposite Pentonville Prison. Now look at the name again.


Saturday, 6 February 2016

#photoblog John Milton's Square Plaque


John Milton London born-and-bred, as well as London-born ON Bread Street. His CV includes the job description Prose Polemicist. One seldom sees opening advertised for prose polemicists these days. There's no money it it, I s'pose.


Friday, 5 February 2016

#photoblog N2 Archaeology


The guys at beloved East Finchley store Tony's Continental replaced their sign recently, unearthing this gem from the 70s in the process.

Thursday, 4 February 2016

#photoblog High Above Oxford Street


On the roof of John Lewis dept store…





Wednesday, 3 February 2016

#photoblog BB King at Elephant & Castle


The Deep South is famed for its music… Elephant & Castle.

Monday, 1 February 2016

#photoblog How To Use A Phone Box


"Daddy, why's there a big red cupboard in the middle of the street?" An instructional scene on Clerkenwell Green as a dad tells his daughter how we used to live.