Saturday, 28 May 2011

Pub Signs Week: Day Five


Piers Morgan's pub in Earl's Court. Old Piers is looking well going by this painting.

Friday, 27 May 2011

Pub Signs Week: Day Four


Is it Winston Churchill? Or is it Matt Lucas?

Thursday, 26 May 2011

Wednesday, 25 May 2011

Pub Signs Week: Day Two


is this Carol Vorderman's local?

Tuesday, 24 May 2011

Pub Signs Week: Day One


Still our favourite – London's best pub sign on one of London's best pubs, the Three Kings of Clerkenwell.

Monday, 23 May 2011

The Droogs Don't Work


Severdroog Castle – an 18th century folly near Shooter's Hill, south London

Thursday, 19 May 2011

The Abbey


Back to normal after the festivities.

Wednesday, 18 May 2011

Pub In The Mist


Emerging like Brigadoon.

Tuesday, 17 May 2011

Neo Bankside


In contrast to yesterday's pic from the past, a fast emerging new London on Bankside.

Monday, 16 May 2011

Soup Kitchen


Hidden deep in the heart of Spitalfields, yet right next to the richest square mile in the Empire, a 19th century Jewish Soup Kitchen.

Saturday, 14 May 2011

Covent Garden


Near the site of the first Punch and Judy show in England, as observed by Pepys.

Wednesday, 11 May 2011

Tuesday, 10 May 2011

Graffiti: It's Going To Be Okay


Graffito found on the Haringey/Hackney borders. It reads "Don't Worry. All The Problems Of Society Will Be Resolved."

Not sure whether this is reassuring or chilling.

Monday, 9 May 2011

Sunday, 8 May 2011

Blue Thames


The River Thames. Brown by day, blue by night.

Saturday, 7 May 2011

Stand Off


Georgian Spitalfields stands up to the modernity of The City. The Gherkin stands as a biased referee.

My money’s on Georgian Spitalfields.

Friday, 6 May 2011

The Collie

When the Coliseum Theatre opened as a music hall, it is said that there was genuine consternation among cab drivers who feared for their lives when approaching St Martin’s Lane lest the revolving globe above the theatre should come crashing to earth.

St Martin’s Lane? This time o’ night, guv’nor? You’re ‘avin a bubble, intcha?

Thursday, 5 May 2011

Go West, Look East

Once a pre-historic settlement, Horsenden Hill still plays home to cavemen – take this pair of hunter-gatherers armed with clubs and stalking their prey… oh, hang on, they’re playing golf.

The view east is toward the two cities of Westminster and London. The Shard is emerging and The City is making a poor fist of trying to hide behind the Post Office Tower.

Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Mast in the Mist

The Crystal Palace transmitter disappearing into the clouds on a heavy winter day in South East London

Monday, 2 May 2011

Give Us A Sign…

Hampstead is another country. They do things differently there. Even their street signage.

Sunday, 1 May 2011

Corner of a Foreign Field

Which forgotten outpost of the British Empire could this be? An English Gothic spire looming over the hacienda?

Where else but Kensington?